Flying out and flying in

Flying out

This intense craving to be understood

To be listened to

To be seen

Like a starving monster that devours your very own existence

It comes out for life

It craves life

It is life itself

Are we ever really here? 

Are we ever really alive? 

What does it mean to be alive? 

The monster didn’t answer

The monster just was

The monster is you

You are your own darkness

You are your own beauty 

And all this energy around

All this desire to be

What does move us? 

What does make us who we are? 

Are we a reflection of others’ people opinions? 

Are we a cocktail of randomly arranged circumstances? 

I embrace this crazyness

I embrace this energy 

I embrace what I cannot comprehend 

I just rest on this seat, surrounded by strangers who share my own fate 

My fellow travellers 

Kids on leash, business men with businesses clothes, coffee people, youngsters who crave fun, shiny youngesters, headphones people, backpack people, people with too many suitcases, people who choose comfort, matching cute couples, perfect hair people, confused babies, disconnected people, unconcerned people, duty free people, people with long stories, people with short stories, gym people, holiday people, bored hostesses, people who just want to go home to their comfort, people and people…

And I. 

Here I am. In my civilised clothes. Adapting, conforming, being with all of you. No better nor worse. 

I just am who I am. 

Hiding this shared secret like you. Feeling and sensing this energy. Or maybe just believing that I am actually capable of that. 

Hiding from the monster who is always watching over you. 

Life is a constant leap of faith. 

Let’s live it. 

Let’s go on holiday, shall we? 

Flying in

Here we are again. Official travelers. With a passport, a backpack, new stories and a bittersweet smile. For some more smiley, for some more bitter. 

Some people asked me: “so you’re a teacher, then?“. It felt good to hear those words, even though I know that the only real teacher is you, Life.

This is a love letter to you, Life. 

You are everything and no words can contain you.

You are that guy who travelled around Norway for 10 days eating only 6kg of cheese. You are that 18 year old who has decided to travel around the world to understand who he is. You are that lady from Germany who flies to Barcelona every weekend because she loves it here and can’t quit her job. You are that 35 year old man who thinks is too old to find a better job. You are that funny IT guy who wants to do music because why not?, you are that old lady walking around the streets, not rushing, not smiling, just minding her own business.

And there’s me. Feeling on holiday for the first time in ages. Feeling like I can do this. Feeling like I am just performing for myself. I don’t need to be funny, presentable, interesting or anything at all. No one cares. Especially I don’t care. My only job is to keep me here. 

When we have comfort, we seek discomfort. When we have nothing, we seek the essential. And when we have the essential, we seek more. When we have everything, we are bored.

Where is the balance? Where is the truth? 

Isn’t just being Here the greatest gift of all possible gifts? 

But we are still humans, we still crave. 

The monster doesn’t like to rest. 

Or maybe my monster used to be quieter, but now it’s awake. Now it sees everything. It needs to be taken care of. It needs a lot of attention. It needs to be soaked in kindness and safety. I can’t leave it on its own for too long. It needs the care it didn’t get when it was younger. Maybe my monster is me.

Maybe she is actually a “she”. Or maybe she is a part of me. I don’t know yet. I need more getaways for my monster. I need her to see the world. To show her that she can actually do it. To support her. To show her that she doesn’t need to be scared of herself. That all that happened was supposed to happen.

That every life is life. 

Energy is energy in all its forms. 

I feel you, Life. 

Just be, just be. 

Leave a comment